NEWS & ARTICLES

Refresh from Disk

Working in a single or multiuser environment? Using a product data management (PDM) tool?

Regardless, there is a productivity tool (or anti-productivity tool if used incorrectly) that enables you to refresh your active document(s). Refresh also means reload in this case. Let’s look at an example.

You’ve opened a part that contains 20 features. You modify the part to add 10 more features only to realize that these changes were a mistake. Instead of doing an “undo” 10 times, you can click File>Reload.

This will, assuming you haven’t made any other changes to the part before saving, take you back to the condition of the part when you opened it. If you did click “save” however, RELOAD will delete all of your changes made after the last “save.”

This greatly empowers you as the user focused on a part, assembly or drawing in a PDM system or not. However, let’s say you aren’t in a PDM system and you’ve opened a part that is being modified by another user.

When you open the part, it is read-only. If the other user who has write access updates and saves the file, you don’t see the update immediately. Either you need to reopen the part or use the Reload command.

One common challenge is understanding when the other user has updated the file. If you use SOLIDWORKS PDM Standard (included with SOLIDWORKS Professional and Premium) or SOLIDWORKS PDM Professional , you are flagged immediately in your PDM task pane.

Notice the version column. This means you have version 1 of 2 loaded where version 2 is the latest.

If you’re not using a PDM system, there isn’t this kind of visibility or functionality of versions.

Using PDM, you can “get” the latest version of the file without reloading (it’s done automatically).

Without PDM, you must reload manually. Additionally, you can change the read/write status upon reload.

Michael S.
Senior Application Engineer
support@qintegration.com
800-370-3750